Lofoten Islands, Norway

Lofoten Islands lie between the 67th and the 68th parallel north, along a west- southwest , 200 km from Vesterålen . They are separated from the mainland to the south -east by the Vestfjord . The archipelago has a total area of 1,227 km2.

The main islands extend about 150 km , one after the other. Connected by road , one must travel 168 km to go Fiskebøl north to south Å . From north to south ( and east to west), it comes:


Austvågøya the largest island with an area of ​​526.7 km ² ;
Gimsøya ( Island Gims 46.4 km ² ) ;
Vestvågøya ( Island Western Våg , 411.1 km ²) ;
Flakstadoya ( Island Flakstad 109.8 km ²) ;
Moskenesøya ( Island Moskenes 193.9 km ²).
In these islands, it is possible to add the southern tip Hinnøya , east of Austvågøya ( Hinnøya is generally considered the greatest of Vesterålen ) . The limits of the archipelago are not precisely defined and varied significantly during the history. These main islands are surrounded by hundreds of smaller islands and islets.

Southwest of Moskenesøya are several islands , smaller and much more isolated:

Mosken is separated from the southern tip of Moskenesøya Moskenstraumen by a system of currents and eddies caused by the tide;
Værøy ( Vær Island , 17 km ²) is southwest of Mosken;
Røst archipelago is separated from the rest of Lofoten by Røsthavet . It includes nearly 400 islands including the largest , Røstlandet , measuring 3.6 km ².
The archipelago is divided between kommuner Vågan , Vestvågøy , Flakstad Moskenes Værøy and Røst . The main cities are Leknes and Svolvær . The population of the archipelago stood at around 25 000 inhabitants living mainly from fishing and tourism today.

Lofoten Islands. Norwaylofoten Lotofen Islands 2